The colour on my living room walls is looking old and faded. I want to choose a new colour scheme but I don’t know where to start. Help!”

Struggling to settle on a colour for your walls? You’re not alone. Almost a third of homeowners interviewed in a Dulux survey admitted that finding the right colour combination was the main thing stopping them from redecorating their home.

But choosing your colours doesn’t have to be a chore. There are plenty of tools and tricks you can use to help you find the perfect palette.

The Dulux Visualizer allows you to create a virtual impression of what your room will look like once it’s painted, so you can easily share your ideas with your decorator.

Try your colours before you buy

The Dulux Visualizer app gives you an instant digital preview of how your room will look once it’s painted, so you can see your finished colour scheme before you’ve even ordered your paint. Try now on iOS | Try now on Android

It’s so easy to use. All you have to do is point your camera phone or tablet at the wall you want to paint, select the colours you want to try out, and tap on the walls you want to paint. Don’t like what you see? Use the app to match the colour of your favourite scarf, or another treasured object, with a similar shade from the Dulux palette.

Still not sure where to start? Follow these simple colour combining rules to help you pick the perfect pairing every time.

Harmonious colour schemes are one of the easiest to get right. They’re created by combining colours that sit close together on the colour wheel – a tool used by artists and designers to see how different colours interact with one another.

Harmonious colour schemes

Harmonious colour schemes are one of the easiest to get right. They’re created by combining colours that sit close together on the colour wheel – a tool used by artists and designers to see how different colours interact with one another.

Pink, purple and blue is a good example of a harmonious scheme, but you can put together your own palette by picking any colours that sit side-by-side on the wheel.

For a calm and balanced look, stick to two or three hues only and choose one colour as an accent, keeping the background colours more subdued.

Which paints? Bongo Jazz, Pansy Violet, Very Pink

Also known as contrasting colour schemes, these are created by combining colours from opposite sides of the colour wheel – red and green, blue and orange, purple and yellow.

Complementary colour schemes

Also known as contrasting colour schemes, these are created by combining colours from opposite sides of the colour wheel – red and green, blue and orange, purple and yellow. The two colours enhance one another, with each making the other feel more vivid.

Complementary schemes are less easy to get right thanks to their clashing nature, but they can look incredibly striking. The trick is to pick one colour as the main base of your scheme and add the complementary colour in accents.

For example, you could bring a living room with blue walls and curtains to life with a smattering of orange cushions and accessories.

Which paints? Sapphire Glow and Gold Strike

Instead of using colours that sit directly opposite each other on the colour wheel, replace one of the complementary colours with the colours from either side of it – red with lime green and turquoise, for example.

Split complementary schemes

If you’re looking for a bit more of a challenge, you might want to give a split complementary scheme a go.

Instead of using colours that sit directly opposite each other on the colour wheel, replace one of the complementary colours with the colours from either side of it – red with lime green and turquoise, for example.

Again, the secret to nailing this look is to get the right proportions. Pale tones of lime green and turquoise will make a harmonious backdrop, perked up by occasional punches of red.

Which paints? Blue Blood, Summer Lily and Ray Of Light

These are sometimes called tonal schemes because they involve layering up different tones of the same colour.

Monochromatic schemes

These are sometimes called tonal schemes because they involve layering up different tones of the same colour. You might, for example, have pale blue walls, with a medium blue sofa and dark blue cushions and curtains.

Make sure you throw in plenty of texture and pattern to stop the scheme from feeling flat. Incorporating white will also help break up the look so it doesn’t become too overpowering or samey.

Which paints? Try Green Night and Blue Grass

Top tip

Once you’ve used the Visualizer to find a colour (or a few colours!) you like, it’s a good idea to order a tester pot before you buy. Natural and artificial light can radically alter how colour appears on your walls, so paint a piece of paper and use tape to hang it up at various points to see if your happy with how it looks in different types of light.

Featured colours

「我家客廳的牆面開始變得殘舊褪色了。我想選擇一種新的配色,但又不知該從何著手。怎麼辦?」

久久未能決定牆面的顏色嗎?這很正常。根據多樂士的一項調查顯示,有近三分之一的屋主們都承認,他們遲遲無法開始裝修的主要原因是未找到合適的房間配色。

事實上,要挑選真正您最喜愛的顏色並沒有那麼困難。有許多實用的工具和技巧,都能幫助您找到最理想的房間配色。

只要拿起具有相機功能的手機或平板電腦,將鏡頭對準想要髹漆的牆面,然後選擇您有興趣的色彩,再點選牆面,畫面就會立即呈現髹漆後的效果。

購買之前可盡情試色

Dulux Visualizer 應用程式可透過數碼方式即時呈現房間髹漆之後的模樣,方便您在購買漆油之前先看看您所選擇的配色效果。

下載 Dulux Visualizer:iOSAndroid

這是一個非常簡單方便的應用程式。您只要拿起具有相機功能的手機或平板電腦,將鏡頭對準想要髹漆的牆面,然後選擇您有興趣的顏色,再點選牆面,畫面就會立即呈現髹漆之後的效果。還是覺得不喜歡嗎?不要緊,您還能透過「取色器」(Colour Picker) 找出跟您所喜愛的物品,如圍巾,配對出最相近的多樂士顏色。

還是不知道該從何開始?只要按照這些簡單實用的色彩組合規則,就能輕鬆挑選出您最喜愛的配色。

選擇和諧的配色是最簡單的好方法之一。在色環上位置相近的色彩,就能組合出美麗和諧的配色 —「色環」是藝術創作者與設計師們經常會使用的工具,能用來確認不同的色彩之間會產生如何的相互作用效果。

運用色彩來創造和諧美感

選擇和諧的配色是最簡單的方法之一。選用於「色環」上位置相近的顏色,就能組合出美麗和諧的配色 — 色環是藝術家與設計師用來確認不同顏色之間的相互配搭工具。

舉例來說,粉紅色、紫色與藍色就是一種和諧配色的好例子;但您也可以挑選在色環上相鄰的任何顏色,來組合出您自己的和諧配色。

若要營造寧靜而平衡的視覺美感,建議您在一個空間之中只使用 2-3 種顏色,並挑選其中一種作為主色調,以保持背景色彩的柔和感。

哪款顏色? 試試 Bongo Jazz, Pansy VioletVery Pink

互補色又稱為對比色,也就是使用色環上兩兩相對的色彩來搭配,舉例來說:紅色配綠色、藍色配橙色、紫色配黃色。

互補色的巧妙應用

互補色又稱為對比色,即是使用色環上相對的顏色作出配搭 – 紅色配綠色、藍色配橙色、紫色配黃色。互補色的兩種顏色能互相襯托、突顯彼此的色調,在視覺上產生更為鮮明的效果。

互補色本來具有視覺衝突的性質,因而較難掌握,但卻能營造出驚艷的風格。因此,在色彩配搭上的秘訣就是先選定一種主色調,再選擇互補色以達到畫龍點睛的效果。

例如,您可以為客廳選擇藍色的牆面和窗簾,然後以橙色的抱枕及其他家品作點綴,這樣就能使整個空間的個性鮮明突出。

哪款顏色? 試試 Sapphire GlowGold Strike

我們建議您,與其使用色輪上兩兩相對的直接對比色,不如將其中一個互補色替換為其兩邊相近的一個顏色,如此將能獲得更好的互補配色效果 — 例如,將紅色搭配青檸色與藍綠色。

善用互補色的衝突美感

如果您是一個樂於挑戰新事物的人,不妨嘗試互補色的衝突美感。

與其使用色環上直接相對的對比色,不如將其中一個互補色替換為兩邊相近的一個顏色,這就能獲得更好的互補配色效果 — 例如,將紅色配搭青檸色與藍綠色。

若想讓互補配色獲得出色的效果,秘訣就是要掌握適當的比例。淺色調的青檸色與藍綠色能營造出和諧的背景色,再以紅色點綴,就能使整個空間個性更鮮明。

哪款顏色? 試試 Blue Blood, Summer LilyRay Of Light

單色系配色又稱為「色調配色」,因為這是運用同一種顏色的不同色調帶來不同的層次。

單色系配色的樸實風格

單色系配色又稱為「色調配色」,因為這是運用同一個色系的不同色調帶出不同的層次。例如,您可以為牆面髹上淺藍色,然後配搭蔚藍色的梳化,並以深藍色的抱枕和窗簾點綴。

建議運用多種不同的質感或裝飾圖案,來避免空間的整體感覺過於平板。此外,加入白色也有助於打破過於單調的風格。

哪款顏色? 試試 Green NightBlue Grass

重點貼士

使用「Dulux Visualizer」找到了喜愛的配色後,我們建議您先在一張紙上髹漆試色,因為色調可能會依據您房間內的自然採光與人工光源而產生極大的變化。然後,將上了漆的紙貼在空間中的不同位置,看看在不同光源照射下的實際顯色效果,確認是否合乎您心意。

精選顏色