Not only are our homes more open than ever – kitchen diners, mezzanine sleeping platforms, balconies and skylights or conservatory bringing the outside world in – so are our families. Where once roles and spaces were strictly defined, now we all share in making our home what it is.

Everyone has a voice

The result? We all use the areas of our home together but we each have our own ideas about how they should look. Rather than that being a challenge, make it an opportunity. Find an interior solution that reflects the best of all the personalities in your home.

The art of sharing space

“Good sharing comes with the ability to be open to other perspectives,” says Marieke van der Bruggen, Senior Color Designer at AkzoNobel. “Communal spaces work best when they give out a positive, open and light-hearted atmosphere. Colour is your power tool in creating such a space.”

Be bold on a neutral base

Ask most people for their favourite colour and it will be a strong one: the primary colours, or maybe a bright pink or rich purple? “We engage with such colours,” says Marieke. “By starting your space with a neutral base such as earthy grey, cream, soft lilac or the grey blue Colour of the Year 2017, Denim Drift, you can bring in everyone’s favourites as vibrant accents.”

Which paints? Denim Drift

Playing with shapes

Unexpected geometric shapes painted in accent colours bring energy to a space.

“While feature walls give your space a big focal point, you could also try more playful bursts of colour by giving windows a bright border frame – I chose an energising sunshine yellow – or unexpected little geometric shapes – I tried a subtler two-tone effect with a grey blue circle on a pale lilac wall against a window frame.”

Which paints? Denim Drift, Executive

DIT (Do It Together)

Circles of paint in different colours make a great feature on a wall.

In shared spaces, it’s great for everyone to be actively involved. “Try creating a feature wall of circles in complementary hues – I chose a palette from light beige and grey through ochre and salmon pink to rosy pink and bright yellow – with each family member painting a certain colour,” suggests Marieke. “The circles don’t have to be perfect – that’s what makes your home feel unique.”

Which paints? Surreal Blue, Unicorn White, Apple Valley, Desert Dawn, Jamaican Smile, Honeysweet

Feature wall with a difference

A striped feature wall with a bold accent yellow against subtler hues.

Most feature walls are a single block of colour, contrasting with a light neutral base on the other walls, but there are so many other possibilities: “Using different hues can create amazing impact. How about bold, alternating stripes for maximum energy or gradually fading from your accent colour back to the base colour to create a calming sunset feel?”

Which paints? Apple Valley, Executive, Floral Twist, Unicorn White, Denim Drift

Watch the video and read more

Find great ways to make the most of your space, read Shared living: ideas for your own breakout space.

Featured colours

我們的家居比以前更為開放:開放式廚房、高架式睡床、露台、天台及溫室等‧‧‧將室外的環境帶到家居生活之中。與此同時,家庭生活和房間用途亦變得多樣化,所以我們更趨向打造一個共融的家居設計。

如何滿足不同的需要?

家庭成員雖共用同一空間,然而對裝修的要求卻不盡相同。與其在室內設計各持已見,不如利用這次機會找出共識,展示每個成員的獨特個性。

共用空間的藝術

多樂士的高級色彩設計師 Marieke van der Bruggen :「了解他人的觀點與需要,才能在同一空間上和諧共處。一個良好的公共空間應散發出正面、開放與歡快的氣氛。而色彩就是創造共融氣氛的重要工具。」

大膽嘗試中性色

許多人都喜歡強烈的色彩,如三原色、螢光粉紅或深紫等。但要如何融合這些顏色呢?Marieke 回答,「我們可以先利用大地灰、乳白、丁香紫或 2017 年度色彩「水洗藍」 (Denim Drift) 等中性顏色作主要色調,之後便可融入各人喜愛的色彩作強調色 (Accent colour)。」

哪款顏色? 試試 Denim Drift

玩轉圖案

利用重點色繪製出意想不到的幾何圖案,為空間增添活力。

「除了使用特色牆來吸引眼球之外,你也可嘗試為窗框添加鮮艷奪目的顏色,如我選用了鮮黃色來增添玩味;或是在窗框邊上添加細小的幾何圖案,效果亦出乎意料的好,如在淺丁香紫色牆身上畫上一個灰藍色的圓圈,可營造出細膩的對比色效果。」

哪款顏色? 試試 Denim DriftExecutive

DIT (Do-It-Together "齊齊動手做")

在牆上繪畫繽紛奪目的圓圈,是注入個人特色的好方法。

設計共用空間的好處是每個人都可以參與其中。Marieke 建議,「嘗試以互補色調在特色牆上手繪圓圈。我會選擇米白色或灰色,並以赭色、三文魚粉紅、玫瑰粉紅甚至鮮黃作對比色。每個家庭成員可選一種顏色來手繪。手繪畫出來的圖案並不完美,但卻顯得獨一無二。」

哪款顏色? 試試 Surreal Blue, Unicorn White, Apple Valley, Desert Dawn, Jamaican SmileHoneysweet

特色牆上顯新意

以鮮黃色與其他柔和色彩相間的條紋特色牆

多數的特色牆以單色為主,用來對比其他淺色的中性牆。但特色牆其實可以有無限可能,運用不同的色調可造出神奇的效果:例如採用前衛、充滿活力的間條花紋,或是要將重點色漸變回其他牆身原有的顏色,營造平靜的日落氣氛。

哪款顏色? 試試 Apple Valley, Executive, Floral Twist, Unicorn WhiteDenim Drift

觀看影片,閱讀更多

了解更多善用空間的方法,請參閱 共享生活:家庭工娛空間好主意

精選顏色