If we look at the four key themes that inform the 2017 palette, blue is prominent in each. It’s a colour that informs every aspect of our lives and, combined with different shades, it can promote various moods and feelings, from tranquillity to energy. │Discover more on the Colour of the Year 2017 Palette

A versatile colour for every room

Colour of the Year 2017, Denim Drift, combines well with other blues and natural wood colours.

When we think of our home as the place we share, eat, sleep, laugh, cry and celebrate – where we live and often work as well, the versatility of blue stands out. It can be used in subtle ways. Denim Drift combines well with other tones of blue or natural wood colours; or it can be used in sharp contrast to yellow hues to add a sense of vibrancy.

Which paints? Denim Drift

Think beyond your walls

Colour of the Year 2017, Denim Drift, combines well with other blues in a striking kitchen design.

“You can do more with paint than just painting your walls,” explains Heleen van Gent, Creative Director of the Global Aesthetic Center. “Painting a ceiling is a simple yet effective way to immerse yourself in a colour.”

Similarly, by painting doors or units such as cupboards in complimentary colours, or using furniture and soft furnishings in the same way, you can start to make new and unexpected combinations.

And of course, if you’re nervous about using blue in a large expanse of wall, you can paint details on a feature wall, or within recesses or shelves – allowing you to play with different palettes in simple yet effective ways.

Which paints? Barton Blue, Big Chill and Black Mica

Make use of the architecture

Discover how Denim Drift, the Colour of the Year 2017, can transform your home.

The structure of each room in your house can be used as a guide to creating different zones of colour. Hand rails, staircases and existing divisions within your space can all create natural breaks for you to experiment with different hues within the same colour scheme. Don’t be afraid to play with the lines that are already in the architecture of the building.

Which paints? Barton Blue, Extreme White

Don’t be afraid to do things by hand

Nothing has to be perfect. Hand-painted motifs and deliberately rough blending between different hues on walls can add a degree of bold imperfection that adds to the overall effect. “These feature wall ideas are really easy,” says Heleen. “There’s no need for stencils. It’s a playful way to add some colour.”

Find your kind of blue

Still unsure about going bold with blue? Download the Dulux Visualizer app for an immediate impression of how inventive use of blue hues can be applied to every room in your home.

Try now on iOS | Try now on Android

Featured colours

仔細看看 2017 年的 4 款主題色彩,不難發現藍色是當中的主色。藍色出現在每一天的生活之中,配搭不同的色彩可以創造出由寧靜至動感的心情與感覺。│發現更多 Colour of the Year 2017年度主題色彩

融入每個房間的百變色彩

2017 年度色彩牛仔灰藍 (Denim Drift) 與其他藍調及自然木色非常相襯。

家,是我們吃飯、睡覺、歡笑、哭泣、慶祝、共享的地方,也是我們居住和工作的場所。而色調豐富的藍色正好代表了家中多樣的情感。水洗藍 (Denim Drift) 與其他藍色色調或天然木色都非常相襯;除了低調的用法外,也可以與鮮明的黃色營造強烈對比,為家中添上一點動感。

哪款顏色? 試試 Denim Drift

跳出牆壁的框框

2017 年度色彩牛仔灰藍 (Denim Drift) 在廚房設計時與其他藍調格外相襯。

多樂士全球色彩中心(Dulux Global Aesthetic Center)的創意總監 Heleen van Gent 說,「漆油絕對不止限於牆身上。試試髹在天花上,可以簡單快捷的為家居生活增添色彩。」

同樣將大門或廚櫃等傢俱髹上柔和的顏色,或是添置質感柔軟的擺設,也可營造出全新、意想不到的組合。

若是不想所有牆都髹上藍色,您也可試試特色牆 (feature wall)、或是以藍色點綴凹槽及層架。嘗試不同的顏色,雖然簡單卻效果突出。

哪款顏色? 試試 Barton Blue, Big ChillBlack Mica

善用建築結構

探索 2017 年度色彩「牛仔灰藍」 (Denim Drift) 如何為您的家居形象大改造。

房間內的結構能分隔出不同色彩區域。扶手、樓梯等現有的間隔物能充分隔開空間,以便嘗試相同色系的各種配搭。如果屋內有這些間隔結構,記得要好好運用。

哪款顏色? 試試 Barton BlueExtreme White

手繪樂趣多

不完美的裝飾也有其可愛之處。例如手繪圖案或牆上不均勻的漸層顏色,這些不完美的痕跡往往會替整體加分。Heleen 說,「特色牆設計可以很簡單隨性,以玩味的方式添上色彩,不需從規蹈矩。」

找出屬於您的藍色

還對藍色心存疑問嗎?下載 Dulux Visualizer 應用程式即時預覽在房間塗上藍色的效果,發揮色彩創意。

下載 Dulux Visualizer: iTunes App StoreGoogle Play

精選顏色