“My walls need a refresh, but the cream colour I usually go for feels a bit dull. Is it possible to stick to a sophisticated, neutral colour palette without being boring?”

Whether you’re a fan of crisp white walls or just too nervous to try attention-grabbing hues, neutrals are the wall shade of choice for nearly 40% of homeowners, according to a recent Dulux survey.

But muted doesn’t mean you have to be boring. Here, show you how to pack a punch with neutral paintwork and banish magnolia for good!

Cool, edgy neutrals work well in busy kitchens, and keep their cool when the temperature rises.

1. Neutrals for… the kitchen

Cool, edgy neutrals work well in busy kitchens, and keep their cool when the temperature rises. Here, crisp, pale grey has been paired with turquoise cabinetry to create a contemporary space that feels cool and fresh. A taupe feature walls adds warmth to the space, and makes the room appear larger.

Which paints? Mendelssohn Concerto, Smokey Glass

A successful study space should stimulate and soothe in equal measure. Achieve this perfect equilibrium with a cool neutral backdrop punctuated by warmer accents.

2. Neutrals for… a study space

A successful study space should stimulate and soothe in equal measure. Achieve this perfect equilibrium with a cool neutral backdrop punctuated by warmer accents. Choose a crisp white or grey for the walls – think porcelain white or a very pale stone grey – and pick one warm neutral, like a soft pink or brown with purple undertones, to breathe new life into forgotten spaces, like this windowsill.

Which paints? Lazy Days, Aged Stucco

Transform the entrance to your home from bland to striking with a sophisticated palette of warm neutral shades.

3. Neutrals for… an entrance

Transform the entrance to your home from bland to striking with a sophisticated palette of warm neutral shades. Here, an earthy tone on the walls has been paired with an off-white ceiling and bold black trim to create a look that’s both subtle and welcoming.

Which paints? Western Navajo, Fencepost

Daring decorators may like to try darker shades of neutrals for a dramatic yet cosy feel in the bedroom.

4. Neutrals for… the bedroom

Neutral doesn’t have to mean pale and interesting. Daring decorators may like to try darker shades for a dramatic yet cosy feel in the bedroom. Keep it simple with a dark grey or inky blue, and create balance by highlighting skirting boards and architectural details in brilliant white.

Which paints Krimson Lake

Add warmth to an open-plan space by taking inspiration from nature.

5. Neutrals for… an open-plan space

Add warmth to an open-plan space by taking inspiration from nature. Think rich, earthy tones of sepia, sienna brown, ochre and stormy grey. To add interest to a large room, consider breaking up the space by using colour to frame a window, or choosing a complementary colour for an accent wall.

Which paints Gentle Tide, Loam and Oyster Bay

The key here is to choose versatile, gender-neutral hues that can easily be accessorised for added interest.

6. Neutrals for… a shared space

The key here is to choose versatile, gender-neutral hues that can easily be accessorised for added interest. Retro pastel shades, such as mustard yellow and olive green, are a good choice, and look sophisticated without dominating the overall look.

Which paints Sudan Sand, Costa Mesa, English Meadows

Top tip

Want to see how these neutral colour schemes will look in your home? The Dulux Visualizer app lets you experiment with different colour combinations to give you an instant impression of how your room could look before you buy the paint.

Try now on iOS | Try now on Android

Featured colours

「我家的牆面需要翻新,但原本的乳白色已經讓我覺得有點沉悶。如何可以維持素雅的中性色之餘,但又可以擺脫單調沒趣的感覺嗎?」

多樂士最近的一項調查顯示,有將近 40% 的屋主仍會為牆面選擇中性色系,因為他們是純白主義的擁護者,或純粹只是不敢嘗試太高調的顏色。

然而,色彩柔和的牆面不一定代表單調。我們將示範如何使用中性色漆油製造製造時尚的風格,拋開對柔和色調的偏見!

忙亂的廚房環境非常適合使用調性沉靜、能營造時尚風格的中性色,尤其能在室溫升高時,帶給您一抹涼爽而寧靜的視覺感受。

1. 中性色適用於廚房

繁忙的廚房環境非常適合使用平靜但時尚的中性色,特別在室溫升高時,中性色系能讓您感覺到涼爽而寧靜。在此,我們運用清爽的淺灰色配搭藍綠色的櫥櫃,創造出感覺清新而寧靜的現代風格。灰褐色的特色牆不但可帶給人溫暖的感覺,更可使廚房空間顯得更大。

哪款顏色?
試試 Mendelssohn ConcertoSmokey Glass

一個最理想的書房空間,應該能使人精神振作,同時又保有寧靜平和感受。只要運用調性沉靜的中性色作為背景色,再點綴以幾許較為溫暖的色彩,就能達到這樣的完美平衡。

2. 中性色適用於書房

一間理想的書房,應該既寧靜平和,同時又能使人精神抖擻。要實現這樣的平衡,只要運用中性色作為背景,再以較溫暖的顏色點綴即可。選擇清爽的白色或灰色髹刷牆面 (例如瓷白色或很淺的岩石灰),然後配搭一種溫暖的中性色 (例如柔和粉紅或帶點紫的褐色調),就可為被遺忘的空間注入新氣息 (例如這座漂亮的窗台)。

哪款顏色?
試試 Lazy DaysAged Stucco

運用中性和暖的色調來組合出風格雅緻的配色,將原本平凡單調的玄關改造為優雅迷人的空間。

3. 中性色適用於玄關空間

運用溫暖的中性色將原本平凡單調的玄關改造為優雅迷人的空間。選用大地色調髹刷牆面,然後配搭灰白色的天花板,及黑色的門框,就可打造出微妙又討好的玄關空間。

哪款顏色?
試試 Western NavajoFencepost

如果您偏好大膽的裝飾設計風格,不妨試試運用較深的中性色調,打造能展現強烈個性同時又極具舒適、私密感的臥房。

4. 性色適用於睡房

中性色並不一定是淺淡的柔和顏色。如果您偏好大膽的裝飾設計風格,不妨運用深色調的中性色展現強烈個性,打造既舒適又私密的睡房。牆面只要選擇深灰色或藍黑色,然後將牆腳線及其他建築細節位置上髹上亮白色,就能營造出簡約的睡房空間。

哪款顏色
試試 Krimson Lake

從美好的大自然中汲取色彩靈感,開放式住宅空間也能給人溫暖和煦的感受。

5. 中性色適用於開放式空間

從大自然中汲取色彩靈感,開放式空間也能給人溫暖的感覺。嘗試豐富而樸實的棕褐色、褐土色、赭石色及鉛灰色。若要為大空間賦予獨特個性,不妨用色彩點綴窗框,打破整體空間的一致性;或選擇一種互補色來髹刷重點牆。

哪款顏色
試試 Gentle Tide, LoamOyster Bay

關鍵祕訣就在於挑選萬用百搭的中性色調,如此一來就能很容易與其他色彩相互搭配,為空間營造迷人氣息。

6. 中性色適用於共用空間

關鍵在於挑選百搭的中性色調,易於與其他色彩互相配搭,為空間營造迷人氣息。您可以運用帶點復古味道的色調(例如芥末黃和橄欖綠都是不錯的選擇),不僅能呈現不俗套的雅緻外觀,還不會凌駕於整體空間風格之上。

哪款顏色?
試試 Sudan Sand, Costa MesaEnglish Meadows

重點貼士

想預先看看這些中性配色在您家中的效果嗎?「Dulux Visualizer」應用程式可讓您在購買漆油之前嘗試各種不同的色彩配搭,即時預覽房間上漆後的效果。

立即下載:iOS | Android

精選顏色