A light palette of off-whites can provide the perfect foundation for making your personal touches the hero in each room. “We call it the poetry of little pleasures,” says Willeke Jongejan, Senior Color Designer at the Global Aesthetic Center. “We’re seeing a new idea of living and consuming – rather than constantly adding new products, the focus instead is on buying less and buying better.”

Play with finishes to add an extra dimension

Neutral base colours draw out and define the objects in your room.

This very pared-back colour palette still offers you the opportunity to play with different finishes and materials. “When deciding on the objects to include, consider using ‘glass and gloss’ in the space,” says Willeke. Picture frames, glass and any other shiny items placed in the room will draw attention. You can also soften the space with the use of natural materials and touches of colour in your choice of furniture.

Which paints? Light Taupe, Manuscript, Snowfield, Barcelona Rain

Adopt the subtlety of ‘silent design’

Textures and off-white tones can create a stylish silent design to your home.

“This discreet, modest approach to the interiors can be summed up as ‘silent design’,” says Willeke. “The subtle mixture of textures, finishes and off-white tones offers up layers of subtle variation the more time you spend exploring it.” By softening the harsher side of industrial minimalism, you can create an almost blank canvas for you to personalise with your own possessions.

Which paints? Marble Falls, Manuscript

A space to be lived in

Paint with light by considering how colour schemes will work with sunlight and shade.

Remember that the overall effect you want to achieve is one of lightness – in every sense of the word. The space should lift your spirits, and be designed to reflect and refract light around the room. So when thinking about the momentos to include, consider varying the surfaces – enrich the space with intriguing, tactile objects.

It may be about adding personal experiences and memories to your home, but you still want it to feel modern, airy and forward-looking. You can add a contemporary twist to a room using a block of darker tone such as the grey blue Color of the Year 2017, Denim Drift, as a subtle statement feature on a wall.

Which paints? Denim Drift, Marble Falls

Find your neutral base

Download the Dulux Visualizer app to see how a pared-down palette could enhance your home.

Try now on iOS | Try now on Android

Featured colours

柔和的米白色系能襯托房間中的主角,突顯您的個人風格及創意。多樂士全球色彩中心(Dulux Global Aesthetic Center)的高級色彩設計師 Willeke Jongejan 指,「現代人的生活與消費方式已改變,不再是為家裡一味添置物品,反而追求簡而精。」

善用質感增添立體美感

中性色彩能突顯及勾劃出室內物品的獨特線條。

樸素的配色,是您展示不同質感與物料的好機會。Willeke 指,「在考慮放置什麼物品時,不妨在空間中加入閃閃發亮的元素。」放置相框、玻璃製品或其他閃亮的物件都能吸引眼球;同時也可採用自然色調與觸感的物料,以平衡空間的質感。

哪款顏色? 試試 Light Taupe, Manuscript, SnowfieldBarcelona Rain

愛上淡雅的「沉默設計」

柔和的色彩可以突顯物料細緻豐富的紋理。

Willeke 說,「這種細膩而平實的室內設計風格可稱為『沉默設計』:糅合各種紋理、質感與米白色調,當您越花時間探索,就越能品味房中的豐富層次。」這種設計撫平了簡約主義中較剛硬的棱角,提供了純淨的「畫布」讓您的個人風格任意揮毫。

哪款顏色? 試試 Marble FallsManuscript

理想的起居空間

在髹上顏色前,先考慮一下不同配色在日光及陰影下的光影效果。

緊記設計時應以「輕快」的效果為重心:家居應予人歡愉感,並盡量把光線反射和折射到房間中。在放置裝飾與紀念品時,也不忘多選觸感豐富、精緻及材質不同的擺設。

在家中添加個人回憶與珍藏的同時,不忘保持現代、舒適和前衛的感覺。試試使用 2017 年主題色彩「水洗藍」(Denim Drift) 來為牆壁拼色,製造出一點隱約的特色。

哪款顏色? 試試 Denim DriftMarble Falls

尋找您的中性色調

下載 Dulux Visualizer 應用程式,看看如何運用簡約色彩替家居加分。

下載 Dulux Visualizer: iTunes App StoreGoogle Play

精選顏色