The twentieth century was defined by the commute: suits and ties, tailbacks and the rigid nine to five. So many social barriers were brought down, yet the divide between home and work remained absolute. Well, there’s a twenty-first century revolution going on…

Rethink your work-life balance

Modern technology has made home working – and bringing work home from the office – a practical reality. Just think for a second what that means: you become your own boss in a small but important way. When you work from home, you choose the environment you work in. That’s pretty exciting. Call it the democratisation of the office.

You’re in charge, how do you want it to feel?

In the past, home offices were too often the sad room of the home. Neglected spaces where people occasionally went to send an email. Now, the home workspace needs to inspire the best in you, allowing you to get the most out of your working day. To do that, it needs to be true to you and – like all the best work environments – it should feel straightforward and authentic.

Set the tone for success

Set the tone for a home office with the right colour combination.

Denim Drift, the Colour of the Year 2017, is at the heart of this new sense of owning our workspaces – its earthy, grey blue tone offers a cool, composed foundation for focus and concentration. “Try using ochre or burnt orange as accent colours,” says Marieke Wielinga, Global Colour Designer at AkzoNobel. “These shades are reminiscent of the 1950s style of La Corbusier, giving your workspace that sophisticated Mad Men look.”

Which paints? Denim Drift, Golden Garland, Southern Tip

Keep your home workspace playful

Dynamic wall designs can bring a sense of creativity to your home office.

We create our best work when we are stimulated to think differently. Look for ways in which you can make your workspace feel fresh. “Painting a large two-tone graphic calendar on your wall combines practicality with striking aesthetics. Dress your shelves and desk space with items that inspire you – books, ceramics, works of art – and you could even highlight alcoves or window frames with rich, inspiring accent colours like a deep russet red.”

Which paints? Downing Street, Cameo Stone, Southern Tip

Lift your senses with colour

Produce work in your living space by setting the right tone.

“Adding a two-tone wall with a slightly lighter shade nearer the light source can really lift the atmosphere and free the mind. Consider using an earthy grey with clay-like beige,” suggests Marieke. Whatever you choose, remember the power of colour to affect mood and focus on cool, contemplative shades that encourage productive home working.

Which paints? Burmese Beige, Grey Mountain

Find your focus

Not sure which colours in the palette are right for you? Download the Dulux Visualizer app to get an instant impression of how your space could look once it’s finished. Try now on iOS | Try now on Android

Featured colours

20 世紀有著刻板的工作模式:恤衫西褲、挺身西裝、朝九晚五......即使已打破不少社會觀念,但工作與家庭仍然是互不相干。然而,21 世紀卻有一股新勢力逐漸形成......

重新審視工作與生活

現代科技造就了SOHO 族,以及在家工作的上班族。這樣的就職模式逐漸變得流行,也就是說,您就是自己的老闆!能在家中工作,也代表能隨心選擇工作的環境。將工作「民主化」,聽起來相當吸引!

由自己話事,那該如何佈置好呢?

過往家中的書房往往令人提不起勁,也就是個偶然打打文件、發個電郵的地方。然而21 世紀的家居工作室卻是提升生產力,啟發工作靈感的泉源。要令工作充滿樂趣,首先工作環境要讓您感到舒適自在;同時要讓您工作起來充滿活力和幹勁。

抹上成功的本色

找出合適的色彩配搭,確立家居辦公室主調。

2017 年度色彩「水洗藍」 (Denim Drift) 是創造個人空間的理想色調:沉實的灰藍色令人集中專注眼前事務,同時不失型格韻味。多樂士的全球色彩設計師 Marieke Wielinga 說,「重點色 (Accent colour) 方面不妨選用黄褐色或焦橙色,這幾種色調令人聯想到 50 年代傳奇建築師 La Corbusier 的建築,營造出仿似當年『廣告狂人』的辨公風格。」

哪款顏色? 試試 Denim Drift, Golden GarlandSouthern Tip

為工作間增添玩味

動感充沛的牆壁設計,讓工作區域充滿創意。

多元空間往往能刺激思維,創造出獨具新意的佳作。因此記得時刻保持工作環境新鮮、有趣。「例如在牆上繪製一個巨型雙色日曆,實用之餘也充滿美感。亦可在書櫃和桌面上擺放賦予靈感的物品,例如書籍、藝術品;甚至是為壁龕或窗框塗上亮麗的色彩(例如暗紅)作裝飾。」

哪款顏色? 試試 Downing Street, Cameo StoneSouthern Tip

善用色彩提高五官觸覺

在起居空間打造貼切的氣氛,提高工作生產力。

Marieke 建議,「在房間光源附近可髹上較淡的雙色牆,例如沉實的灰色配搭陶白,可改善氣氛之餘亦令頭腦放鬆。」無論選擇什麼顏色,記住色彩確實擁有影響心情的魔力,因此應選擇帶出平靜、促進思考的色彩,以提升在家工作的效率。

哪款顏色? 試試 Burmese BeigeGrey Mountain

尋找您的個人焦點

不知道哪款顏色適合自己?快來試試 Dulux Visualizer 應用程式 ,隨意測試房間上色後的效果。

下載 Dulux Visualizer: iTunes App StoreGoogle Play

精選顏色