“One of the advantages of using softer tones is that it puts the focus on texture,” says Willeke Jongejan, Senior Color Designer at the Global Aesthetic Center. Natural materials sit perfectly within this palette, showing off the grain of wood or the detail in exposed brickwork. Experiment with similar materials in your use of furniture: the colours and textures of leather, wool and bare wooden furniture are all enhanced by this neutral environment.

Add a dash of gloss

Try mixing gloss with matte finishes to give texture to two-tone walls.

“Try mixing gloss details on a matte wall, so that surfaces change throughout the day as the light catches them,” says Willeke. The use of soft tones and colour proportions, together with these variations between matte and gloss finishes, add a subtle element of surprise to any room. Soft furnishings such as linen and rugs can also add to a subtle contrast.

Which paints? Snowfield, Light Taupe, Denim Drift

Keep it elegant

Create graphic patterns through two-tone walls.

“The age of clutter, of product for its own sake, is on the decline,’ says Willeke. We’re moving away from traditional consumerism and towards a more subtle and modest approach to our choice of possessions and the décor in our home. This ‘barely there’ approach to interior design is informed by a new type of luxury – the luxury of space and time. So rather than overwhelming the senses, we give them the space they need with a calming, soft colour palette.

Which paints? Barcelona Rain, Denim Drift

Stay in touch

With a pared back colour scheme you allow objects to stand out and be appreciated.

With such a bare, stripped-back approach, you can then start to build up the personality in each room by adding accessories in different materials, with the emphasis on the tactile. “Think about how everything will feel to the touch,” says Willeke. With only subtle variations in colour, the objects in the room play the role of adding that element of difference.

You can also experiment with painting some parts of furniture and leaving others bare. Start with only selecting a few of the chairs in a room to paint and, if you’re feeling bold, you can even try painting half a chair, so the feel changes from smooth to rough even in an individual piece.

Which paints? Denim Drift, Snowfield

The art of understatement

Download the Dulux Visualizer app to see how these understated, light hues can be used in your home.

Featured colours

多樂士全球色彩中心(Dulux Global Aesthetic Center)的高級色彩設計師 Willeke Jongejan 說,「柔和的色調擅長襯托出細膩紋理。」天然物料與柔和色彩相當配合,可突顯細節如木紋或外露磚頭的凹凸坑紋。選擇傢俬時嘗試多以柔和色彩配合皮革、羊毛、實木等材質,便能與紋理達到相輔相成的效果。

灑上一抹亮光

以明亮的色彩、形狀和紋理來刺激您的五官。

Willeke 說,「在啞光的牆上加入小許光亮細節,令牆身在陽光照耀下營造對比和變化。」善用適當的色彩比例塗上柔和色調,加上光亮啞面的反差,可以為房間塑造出不一樣的驚喜。另外添置麻布或地毯等質感柔和的家具,可加添幾分微妙的對比。

哪款顏色? 試試 Snowfield, Light Taupe, Denim Drift

時刻保持優雅

利用雙色調牆壁創造出豐富圖案。

Willeke 續說,「豐饒過剩的設計已不再盛行了。」我們開始擺脫傳統的消費主義,不再追逐以量為主的潮流,而是逐漸邁向思考消費及物品存在意義的世紀;「囤積」的概念已不合時宜,取而代之「空間」與「時間」才是真正的奢華。與其盲目填滿五感,不如以平靜而柔和的色彩,創造出現代人真正需要的「空間」。

哪款顏色? 試試 Barcelona Rain, Denim Drift

為房間添置觸感

單一樸素的背景顏色,有助突顯主題,將靜物搖身一變化為房中主角。

如果房間採用樸素單一的顏色,那麼便會突顯裝飾物料的觸感,從而打造出個人風格。Willeke 覺得「每件物品的觸感,是考慮的要點」。由於房間顏色上相對單一,因此房中一事一物都會帶來不一樣的變化。

您更可以嘗試保留傢俬原有的材質;自問夠大膽的話可以只選幾張椅子上色,甚至只為椅子局部上色,令個別傢俬都能擁有平滑至粗獷質感的變化。

哪款顏色? 試試 Denim Drift, Snowfield

深藏淺露的藝術

下載 Dulux Visualizer 應用程式,看看這些柔和色彩如何運用在家中發揮深藏淺露的本色。

下載 Dulux Visualizer: iTunes App StoreGoogle Play

精選顏色