“I’m bored with my home but can’t afford to move. What can I do to give it a new lease of life?”

Don’t underestimate the power of paint! More than 50% of homeowners interviewed in a Dulux survey agreed that a lick of paint is the best way to bring the thrill of the new to a familiar space. Better still, it’s a budget-friendly option with easy-to-achieve, instant results.

Whether you decide to redecorate one room at a time or make a grand plan to tackle the entire property at once, here’s how paint can reignite your passion for your home.

If your kitchen has dark brown walls but what you actually want is an airy family kitchen, why not switch the brown for a bright, sunny yellow.

1. Think about function

Before you reach for the paint charts, go through each room in your home and ask yourself, firstly, what you use the room for and, secondly, whether the room’s current colour fits that function. If not, think carefully about the atmosphere and function you would like that room to have, and choose your colours accordingly.

For example, if your kitchen has dark brown walls but what you actually want is an airy family kitchen, why not switch the brown for a bright, sunny yellow?

Which paints? Yarborough Yellow, Scroll Beige

Make sure you paint your to suit both its function and the amount of light it gets. Apple green is a cheerful shade for a sunny living room, while dusky pink is an inviting, opulent choice for a dining room.

2. Swap things around

Why not take things a step further and consider swapping the function of two different rooms?

For example, if your dining room gets the best sun in the house, why not switch it with your living room? This will give you a lovely light-filled living room, while the dining room, which generally gets used in the evening, will sit quite happily in a darker part of the house.

Make sure you paint the rooms to suit both their function and the amount of light they get. Apple green is a cheerful shade for a sunny living room, while dusky pink is an inviting, opulent choice for a dining room.

Which paints? Hollyhock, Light Lime

Muted tones are eternally popular, but bold colours are a sure-fire way to inject some oomph into a tired-looking decorating scheme.

3. Dare to be bold

Muted tones are eternally popular, but bold colours are a sure-fire way to inject some oomph into a tired-looking decorating scheme.

If you’d like to brighten up your home but are wary of going all-out in one go, give bold tones a trial run in a room that doesn’t get much use – cloakrooms are great for this, as they’re small and are only used for a few minutes at a time.

If you don’t have a small room to experiment in, try painting a single feature wall, or the wall behind built-in shelves for a more subtly vibrant look.

Which paints? Brendon Bay

Take stock of what you’ve got, pick out the items you really love and then use these as the basis for your new decorating scheme.

4. Tie everything together

When you’ve lived somewhere for a long time, it’s easy to accumulate things that don’t necessarily go together. Take stock of what you’ve got, pick out the items you really love and then use these as the basis for your new decorating scheme.

If you have a pretty blue vase, for example, why not use it as the starting point for a sophisticated tonal scheme, with pale blue on the walls and punches of blue in a variety of shades in your soft furnishings and accessories?

Worried that your home doesn’t have any interesting architectural features to show off? Fake them using paint.

5. Create new features

Worried that your home doesn’t have any interesting architectural features to show off? Fake them using paint.

For a traditional dado rail look without the dado rail, paint the lower portion of your walls in a deep shade, with a lighter shade on top. Don’t have skirting or coving? Paint a stripe around the bottom and top of your walls, framing them to create a smart, defined look. Go for deep, dark tones to give the scheme a classic feel.

Which paints? Krimson Lake, Light's Out

Top Tip

Want a sneak preview of how your home will look in its fresh new colours? Get an instant digital impression of your scheme using the Dulux Visualizer app.

Try now on iOS | Try now on Android

Featured colours

「我已經看膩了家裡的模樣,但又未能負擔得起去換個新單位。我可以用什麼方法令家居空間充滿新鮮感呢?」

別小看漆油的力量!根據多樂士的一項訪談調查,有超過 50% 以上的屋主都同意,髹上新漆油是讓舊空間展現新氣象的最好辦法。這不但非常容易做到,且又能立即看見效果,更不需要大灑金錢。

無論您想裝飾設計一個房間,或想一次過大改造整個單位,只要參考我們的髹油小貼士,就能重新燃起您對於家居的熱情。

如果您的廚房看起來黯淡無光,但您真正想要的是清爽明亮的風格,何不選用如陽光般鮮明的黃色調來使您的廚房改頭換面呢?

1. 考慮空間的用途

在您選擇漆油顏色之前,請先檢視家裡每個房間,並問問自己:「這個房間的用途是甚麼?」然後想想:「目前的顏色是否適合這個房間的用途?」如果不適合,請仔細考慮您希望這個房間能有怎樣的氣氛和功能,並根據此來選擇最合適的顏色。

例如,如果廚房的牆面是深啡色,但您真正想要的是清爽明亮的風格,何不選用如陽光般鮮明的黃色調來改造您的廚房呢?

哪款顏色?
試試 Yarborough YellowScroll Beige

請務必確認您髹塗的色彩既適合空間功能又配合採光照明;蘋果綠可為採光充足的客廳帶來鮮活愉快的氣息,而淡粉紅則能打造出一間溫馨、高雅的飯廳。

2. 用途大轉移

不如做多一點改變,將兩個房間的用途互相對調?

舉例,如果您的飯廳採光最好,何不將它與客廳互換呢?這就能讓您擁有一個採光充足、令人心情愉悅的客廳。而通常晚上才會使用的飯廳,反而較適合在住宅內較暗的位置。

請確認您髹刷的顏色是既適合空間用途,而又配合採光照明。蘋果綠可為採光充足的客廳帶來愉快的氣息,而淡粉紅則能打造出一個溫馨、高雅的飯廳。

哪款顏色?
試試 HollyhockLight Lime

柔和的色調總是很容易被大家所接受;然而,如果您想要為已經看膩了的居家裝飾設計注入一點新鮮活力與迷人風格,使用大膽的色彩絕對是個好方法。

3. 勇於嘗試

柔和色調總是受歡迎,但是,大膽的顏色卻絕對能為沉悶的的家居裝飾設計注入活力與迷人的風格。

如果您想令住家空間明亮起來,但又對全面大改造有所保留,不妨在較少用的房間嘗試使用大膽的色調,例如衣帽間就是個進行色彩實驗的好選擇,因為空間不大,而平常不會長時間待在裡面。

如果您家裡沒有小房間可供您實驗,也可以嘗試髹刷一面特色牆 (Feature Wall) 或是置物架後方的牆面,就可不著痕跡地營造明亮的視覺效果。

哪款顏色?
試試 Brendon Bay

檢視家中的各種物件、將您所珍愛的收藏品再拿出來欣賞一遍,然後將這些元素作為全新裝飾設計配色的參考依據。

4. 創造和諧一致的空間美感

當我們在某個地方居住了很久,那裡很自然就會累積了各種風格不協調的物品。檢視家中的各種物件,挑選您珍愛的收藏品,然後將這些元素作為新裝飾設計方案的參考。

例如,你有一個漂亮的藍色花瓶,何不以它作為起點,配合淡藍色的牆壁和各種藍色的家居裝飾及配件,創造一個時尚的調色方案?

老是覺得自己家裡沒有任何迷人的建築元素可以炫耀嗎?沒關係,您可以利用油漆來偽造巧妙效果。

5. 創造新的空間元素

覺得自己家裡沒有任何有趣的建築元素可以炫耀?利用漆油來打造吧!

如果想打造傳統牆腳板的視覺效果,請用深色漆油來髹刷牆面的下半部,然後在最上方髹上一道較淺的顏色。沒有牆腳板或天花腳線板嗎?只要沿著牆面的底部及頂部均髹上一道顏色,並加上框線,即可巧妙地創造出輪廓分明的外觀。選擇較沉穩的深色調,就能賦予家居空間一點古典美感。

哪款顏色?
試試 Krimson LakeLight's Out

重點貼士

想預覽新顏色改造住家後的效果嗎?快來試試 「Dulux Visualizer」 應用程式,即時觀看髹塗後的效果。

立即下載:iOS | Android

精選顏色