“We love entertaining, but the walls in our dining area look a bit dull. Can you suggest any colour ideas that will make an impact and impress our guests?”

According to AkzoNobel research, around 25% of homeowners are so embarrassed by their dull décor they’re reluctant to invite guests into their home.

But don’t let faded wall colour put a dampener on your socialising – a coat of gorgeous paint is a quick and easy way to create a warm and inviting dining area that you’ll be proud to show off to guests.

So whether you have an open-plan dining space or a dedicated dining room, here are some colourful ideas to give your walls the WOW factor.

Warming and lustrous golden shades, such as Monarch Gold, are perfect for creating an inviting atmosphere in your dining room.

1. The midas touch

Warming and lustrous golden shades, such as Monarch Gold, are perfect for creating an inviting atmosphere in your dining room. The perfect balance between sophisticated and cosy, this hue radiates happiness and positive energy. Use it as a feature wall colour to fill your room with warmth, or combine with other shades of yellow and orange, like amber, daffodil yellow or terracotta, to create a strong contrast.

Which paints? Golden Crown, Historic Tan and Celandine

Pewter-grey walls and contemporary furniture have been energised with a splash of blush pink. The soft, delicate tones evoke warmth and intimacy, while the neutral colours used throughout the rest of the room create a calming effect.

2. Warm and contemporary

One of the easiest ways to create a welcoming dining room is by picking colours from the warm end of the spectrum. Warm shades intensify the atmosphere in a room while still evoking a serene effect. Here, pewter-grey walls and contemporary furniture have been energized with a splash of blush pink. The soft, delicate tones evoke warmth and intimacy, while the neutral colours used throughout the rest of the room create a calming effect.

Which paints? Rouge Red, Renoir Bisque and Camelcoat

Blend sumptuous shades of purple and deep red to create a dining space brimming with grandeur and opulence. To create a striking focal point, use a rich shade of purple for the walls, and layer with mulberry accents.

3. Great expectations

Blend sumptuous shades of purple and deep red to create a dining space brimming with grandeur and opulence. To create a striking focal point, use a rich shade of purple for the walls, and layer with mulberry accents for an eye-popping, yet pleasing, contrast. To enhance the luxe feel, accessorize with golden candelabra and rich velvet cushions.

Which paints? Rich Burgundy and Whistling Dixie

For a traditional dining room that exudes prettiness, look to the romance of the French countryside for inspiration. Pair crisp, classic greys with chalky, muted pastels like violet and lilac.

4. Oh so pretty

For a traditional dining room that exudes prettiness, look to the romance of the French countryside for inspiration. Pair crisp, classic greys with chalky, muted pastels like violet and lilac. Combine these soothing shades with classic furniture, and complete the look with accessories with distressed finish, like wrought iron chairs and a raw linen tablecloth.

Which paints? Mystic Purple, Floral Twist and Wildflower

Rich brown and ochre gold have been blended with a paler shades to create an eye-catching colour flow effect. It’s a great way to add drama to your dining room, particularly if only have a small space.

5. Go with the flow

Dreaming of a dining room with immediate WOW factor? One of the easiest ways to add instant impact is with a colourful feature wall. Here, rich brown and ochre gold have been blended with a paler shades to create an eye-catching colour flow effect. It’s a great way to add drama to your dining room, particularly if only have a small space, or only want to paint one wall.

Which paints? Golden Crown and Golden Kiwi

If your dining area is part of a larger open-plan room, consider defining the space with a bold and colourful paint effect.

6. Define your space

If your dining area is part of a larger open-plan room, consider defining the space with a bold and colourful paint effect. Choose one colour for the entire room and accentuate your dining area with horizontal stripes. For a contemporary look, leave the edges of the stripes blurred and choose contrasting colours to enhance the sense of fun.

Which paints? Pebble Mosaic, Batik Green and French Stripe Red

Vibrant coral with hints of orange is an uplifting and convivial shade that will energise your dining room without overpowering it.

7. Coral reef

If you use your dining room for family meals as well as dinner parties, you’ll want to make sure the colour scheme you choose works just as well for casual, as well as formal, occasions. Vibrant coral with hints of orange is an uplifting and convivial shade that will energize your dining room without overpowering it. Perfect for hardworking dining rooms that are in constant use!

Which paints? Bongo Jazz and Fencepost

Top tip

Still not sure which colour to use? Try the Dulux Visualizer. The app gives you an instant digital preview of how your room will look once it’s painted, so you can see your finished colour scheme before you’ve even ordered your paint.

It’s so easy to use. All you have to do is point your camera phone or tablet at the wall you want to paint, select the colours you want to try out, and tap on the walls you want to paint.

Try now on iOS | Android

Featured colours

「我們非常喜愛款待賓客,但家中飯廳的牆壁外觀卻平淡沉悶。您能建議一種與眾不同且讓賓客留下深刻印象的色彩概念設計嗎?」

根據多樂士研究調查,約有 25% 的屋主對家中沉悶的裝飾設計感到尴尬,因此不願意邀請賓客來到家裡。

但別讓褪色的牆面破壤了您的社交活動 - 只需髹上一層華麗的漆油,就可輕鬆地打造一個既溫暖又充滿歡愉的用餐空間,讓您可自豪地向賓客炫耀。

因此,無論家中有開放的用餐空間或專用飯廳,以下的色彩設計概念能讓您的牆面帶來一種令人讚嘆的髹塗效果。

溫暖亮麗的金色系 (如 Cherished Gold) 是打造愉悅飯廳空間的最佳色彩。

1. 點石成金

溫暖亮麗的金色系 (如 Cherished Gold) 是打造愉悅飯廳空間的最佳色彩。這種色調可取得舒適雅緻的完美平衡,在空間中散發出快樂且正面的能量。以此為特色牆身,能為您的空間填滿暖色系,或結合黃色和橙色的其他色調 (如琥珀色)、灰黃色或赤陶色,以營造強烈的對比色彩。

哪款顏色? 試試 Golden Crown, Historic TanCelandine

青灰色牆面配搭現代傢俱,抹上一層胭脂粉色可帶來活潑朝氣。這種柔和細緻的色調,散發出令人倍感溫暖親切的氣息。室內其他地方若使用中性色彩,更可營造出恬靜舒緩的感覺。

2. 暖和又富現代感

最簡單的一種方法,是選用光譜上暖色系去營造歡迎氣氛的飯廳空間。暖色系除可增添房間氣氛,更能令人倚感恬靜。青灰色牆面配搭現代傢俱,抹上一層胭脂粉色可帶來活潑朝氣。這種柔和細緻的色調,散發出令人倍感溫暖親切的氣息。室內其他地方若使用中性色彩,更可營造出恬靜舒緩的感覺。

哪款顏色? 試試 Rouge Red, Renoir BisqueCamelcoat

紫色系和深紅色混合配搭出一種奢華感,營造出一個高貴華麗的用餐空間。若要成為賓客的焦點,牆壁可使用豐富的紫色系,並髹塗數層的深紅色為重點色。

3. 無比期待

紫色系和深紅色混合配搭出一種奢華感,營造出一個高貴華麗的用餐空間。若要成為賓客的焦點,牆壁可使用豐富的紫色系,並髹刷數層的深紅色為重點色,既可吸引目光又令人愉悅。若要加強奢華感,可配搭金色燭台和絲絨靠墊。

哪款顏色? 試試 Rich BurgundyWhistling Dixie

想設計一個散發著美麗雅緻的傳統用餐空間,可考慮法式鄉村的浪漫色調。以經典清新的灰色配搭柔和的粉色系 (如紫羅蘭色和紫丁香色)。

4. 太漂亮了

想設計一個散發著美麗雅緻的傳統用餐空間,可考慮法式鄉村的浪漫色調。以經典清新的灰色配搭柔和的粉色系 (如紫羅蘭色和紫丁香色)。結合這些柔和色彩和經典傢俱,再以復古的配件,如鑄鐵質感的椅子和原麻色桌巾,帶來傳統感覺。

哪款顏色? 試試 Mystic Purple, Floral TwistWildflower

以濃厚啡色和金黃色混搭著偏淺的粉色調,容易引人注目。這是為飯廳增添一點戲劇色彩的最佳方法,特別適用於空間不大的飯廳。

5. 彩色手繪格紋

是否夢想擁有令人讚嘆的飯廳空間?想有立即效果的最簡單的方法之一,是髹塗一面多彩特色牆。在這面牆上,以濃厚啡色和金黃色混搭著偏淺的粉色調,容易引人注目。這是為飯廳增添一點戲劇色彩的最佳方法,特別適用於空間不大的飯廳或只想髹一面牆的時候。

哪款顏色? 試試 Golden CrownGolden Kiwi

如果您的飯廳附屬於較大的開放平面空間,可考慮使用大膽且豐富多彩的漆油設計來分隔空間區域。

6. 清楚分隔您的空間

如果您的飯廳附屬於較大的開放平面空間,可考慮使用大膽且豐富多彩的漆油設計來分隔空間區域。為整個空間選擇一個色彩,再以橫條紋突顯用餐空間。若想看起來富時代感,邊緣可加點模糊設計,並選用對比色以增添一些趣味感。

哪款顏色? 試試 Pebble Mosaic, Batik GreenFrench Stripe Red

鮮明亮麗的珊瑚色隱約帶點令人快樂開心的橙色色調,能為您的飯廳帶來一點活潑朝氣。

7. 珊瑚礁

如果您的飯廳是供家庭用餐和晚宴用途,您需要確定所選擇的配色是既可適用於家常便飯時光,又可適合於正式晚宴的場合。鮮明亮麗的珊瑚色隱約帶點令人快樂開心的橙色色調,能為您的飯廳帶來一點活潑朝氣,更特別適用於經常使用的飯廳空間。

哪款顏色? 試試 Bongo JazzFencepost

用色貼士

仍不確定使用哪個色彩?試試 Dulux Visualizer 應用程式, 即時預覽房間髹漆之後的模樣,以便您在購買漆油之前先看看您所選擇的配色效果。

使用很容易,只要拿起具有相機功能的手機或平板電腦,將鏡頭對準想要髹漆的牆面,然後選擇您有興趣的色彩,再點選牆面,畫面就會立即呈現髹漆後的效果。

立即下載:iOS | Android

精選顏色